Review all the 2022 National Awards here.

2021 National Awards for the State & Local Courts of Iowa


ART, DIV I, 2ND PLACE Gladys Hernandez, Court 189 Bernadette, Sheldon
ART, DIV III, 3RD PLACE Mia Allmon, #330 St Anthony, Council Bluffs
ART ,DIV IV, 2ND PLACE Anne D. Marrin, #342 Court Fidelis, Wesley
COMPUTER ART, DIV II, 2ND PLACE Nora Kate O’Connor,, #216 Court Our Lady of Good Counsel, Fort Dodge
POETRY, DIV IV, 3RD PLACE  Janet Marbach, #1976 Court Mary of the Assumption, Manchester Below accepting her award from State Treasurer Deb Steger along with education chair Wilma Billhorn.

MUSIC DIV III, 2ND PLACE (for each of the two submitted songs) Maggie Lennon, #216 Court Our Lady of Good Counsel, Fort Dodge



NATIONAL WEBSITE, CATEGORY V, DIV II, 3RD PLACE, STATE COURT OF IOWA Regent Karen Kasparbauer, Webmaster Chris Peiffer

2019 National Contest Awards

State Regent Karen Kasparbauer presents the award for 3rd place national newsletter contest to Court Regent Elizabeth Callan accepting on behalf of Ct. 1976 – Mary of the Assumption – Manchester.

Take a look at all the other National Contests winners HERE!!

2018 St. Faustina National Membership Awards

St. Faustina was dedicated to spreading the news of God’s mercy and His love for His people. The St. Faustina award was established to honor those members who are dedicated to increasing our membership in order that we can continue to share God’s love and mercy with others. The award is given to those who reflect leadership in recruitment and court development.Winners were nominated by their state regents.

Awards were announced at the National Conventions in Sioux Falls, and State Regent, Jan Grundmeyer presented the Iowa winners with their awards at the Fall Workshops.


Both award recipients shared their ideas and encouragement regarding their courts and membership in the following words:

Court St. Cecelia #283, Algona – Denise Schreiber

Court St. Therese, the little Flower #1768, Cedar Rapids – Susan Frischkorn

See the list of all state winners here.

The following Circle of Love Awards were also announced at the 2018 National Convention:

National Spiritual Enhancement Awards
Olga Samaniego, National Regent-Elect and National Spiritual Enhancement Chairman

Iowa State Project: Rosaries for Iowa Hospitals, Jan Grundmeyer
In 2017, the Iowa State Board began a project to collect and distribute rosaries to hospitals, care centers, and nursing homes across the state. Members are asked to collect rosaries and bring them to state activities including the state convention. Members are also encouraged to mail in rosaries if they cannot attend events. The rosaries are blessed by the State Chaplain. Each rosary is placed in a sandwich bag along with a card explaining the mysteries and giving instructions on how to pray the rosary. Additionally, a small note was included the said, “May the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary bring you peace and comfort. From the Catholic Daughters of the Americas.” Members of CDA and their grandchildren help to put the rosaries and notes in bags. So far, 1,000 rosaries have been collected and are being distributed. Most of the courts in Iowa are involved in collecting, making and distributing the rosaries. Often the members assisting in the making of rosaries are the home bound members who are unable to participate in other activities. The project is unifying members across Iowa and bringing comfort to those in hospitals and care centers throughout the state.

National Legislation Awards – Margaret Sitte, Legislative Chairman

Court Saint Cecelia, #283, Council Bluffs, IA, Regent: Julie Norland
White Ribbons Against Pornography
Legislative Chair Denise Schreiber involved the whole court in the White Ribbons Against Pornography (WRAP) program sponsored by the National Center on Sexual Exploitation (NCOSE). On Oct. 29, the pastor announced why white ribbons decorated the altar and church entrances, and after Mass members stood at every door handing out two brochures from NCOSE. They also made pamphlets available to teachers and counselors at local schools.

Youth Awards – Arline Rich, National Director and National Youth Chairman

Iowa State Project: Cross Donation Helps Youth, State Regent: Jan Grundmeyer
Roger Arndorfer, husband of 2nd Vice Regent Kaye, makes beautiful stained glass crosses. He donated one of these crosses as an item to buy chances on at our State Convention. Two parties were grateful for the results – 1) the member who won the cross and 2) the Kuemper Catholic School Foundation in Carroll, Iowa where Mr. Arndorfer requested the proceeds from the chances be sent. In a thank you from the school, they said that the contribution will advance the ministry of Catholic Education for the youth in the Carroll area. What a beautiful way to help in the education of our youth.

Attached is the list of all contest awards also given out at the at the convention. Iowa is well represented!